The Connecticut Department of Public Safety controls the processing and management activities of security guard training in the state of Connecticut.
In order to begin the process, one must gain a Security Officer Certification Identification Card.
Connecticut Security Guard Training Requirements
- Being 18 years of age or older
- Having never been convicted of a felony
- Being of good moral standard and character
- Successfully completing an 8-hour security guard training course requiring instructor approval
The state’s Department of Public Safety website indicates that, “Applicants for Security Officer Certification Identification Card must complete a course of instruction approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety, at their expense. The course is offered by private instructors and involves classroom criminal justice training. Upon completion of the course, the instructor signs off on the reverse side of the application form DPS 135-C. The application form and fingerprints are then submitted to the Special License and Firearms Unit. The Security Officer card is good for 2 years unless suspended or revoked.”
Upon completion of security guard training, the instructor will provide the necessary forms and the prospective employer will then complete the registration process.
In order to gain a certification card, one must pay $100.00. There is also cost associated with obtaining the fingerprint card which is one of the requirements during the process of performing a background check. This costs $50.00 and $19.25 which should be made payable to the Department of Public Safety.
Registration forms can be found on the Connecticut Department of Public Safety website and is able to be downloaded if the employer of the company or security agency lacks the appropriate forms.
Labor Statistics for Security Guards in Connecticut
|Area name||Employment||Hourly mean wage||Annual mean wage||Hourly median wage||Annual median wage|
Data extracted on December 25, 2013