In the state of North Carolina, security guard training can be tough and rigorous, but extremely rewarding. Further, a license/registration is mandatory to become an unarmed security guard in the state.
- Being of 18 years of age or older
- Being a citizen of the United States or a registered resident alien
- Having good moral standards and character
- Not having been convicted of any felonies or misdemeanors associated with violence (including domestic ), drugs (the use or sale), theft or fraud in the last 5 years
- Submission of two recent passport style photographs (one by one inch)
- Submission of two fingerprint cards
- Having a certified copy of you criminal background history for the last 48 months
- Successfully completing a department approved security guard training course within 30 days of employment
- Employment by a private security company or security agency under the supervision of a licensed patrol officer.
Additional conditions that could be of assistance include having a valid driver’s license, being in good physical shape, having the ability to stand for extended periods of time and possessing thorough communication skills.
Security Guard Training Program
Security guard training courses of 16-hours are required and subjects include:
- Security Officer in North Carolina (minimum of 1 hour)
- Legal Issues for Security Officers (minimum of 3 hours)
- Emergency Response (minimum of 3 hours)
- Communications (minimum of 2 hours)
- Patrol Procedures (minimum3 hours)
- Note Taking and Report Writing (minimum of 3 hours)
- Deportment (minimum of 1 hour)
Fees, which are nonrefundable, include the cost for the application of $30.
Employment and Salary Statistics for Security Guards in North Carolina
|Area name||Employment||Hourly mean wage||Annual mean wage||Hourly median wage||Annual median wage|
Data extracted on December 26, 2013
Contact the North Carolina General Statutes or call 919 431-300 for further insight.