In order to become an unarmed security guard in the state of South Carolina, a security license and security guard training are required. The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) manages the process of licensing. Instead of the individual acquiring the license; however, the company or security agency hiring must be licensed and approved by the SLED.
Basic Security Guard Training Requirements in South Carolina
- Being of 18 years of age or older
- Showing proof of being a United Stated citizen
- Having good moral standards and character
- Possessing an insurance letter from your employer or surety bond
- Having no drug or alcohol use or dependence
- Having no conviction of felonies
- Not being disabled to the point of not being able to perform duties
- Having a fingerprint card
- Submitting to a criminal background check
- Successfully completing the mandatory security guard training by a SLED certified instructor
Security Guard Training Course
The basic training must be provided by the company or security agency hiring , and subjects that are covered within the security guard training course involve:
- The role of private security
- Legal aspects
- Patrol and observation
- Incident response
- Security resources: Surveillance operation and documentation
- Customer service issues: Working with and addressing the public
- First aid overview
Note that these are just the basic requirements and more subjects can be taken and added at your individual discretion.
Fees, which are nonrefundable, include the license cost of $65.
South Carolina Labor Statistics
|Area name||Employment||Hourly mean wage||Annual mean wage||Hourly median wage||Annual median wage|
Data extracted on December 26, 2013
Check out the SLED Regulations or contact 803-737-9000 for further information.