In the state of Utah, security guard training is tought, but rewarding. In order to become an unarmed security guard in Utah, a license is required. The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) manages the licensing process and this license has to be renewed every two years.
Basic Security Guard Training Requirements in Utah
- Being of 18 years of age or older
- Possessing a valid social security number
- Having a valid driver’s license
- Having two fingerprint cards or electronic fingerprinting
- Possessing a certificate of completion of a 24-hour security guard training course with score no less than 80%
- Being mentally knowledgeable
- Having good moral standards and character
- Having no drug or alcohol use or dependence
- Successfully passing a drug test
- Having no felony convictions
- Not being disabled to the point of not being able to perform basic duties
- Submitting to a criminal background check
Security Guard Training Program
The basic training subjects that are covered within the security guard training course involve:
- The role of private security
- Legal aspects
- Patrol and observation
- Incident response
- Security resources: Surveillance operation and documentation
- Customer service issues: Working with and addressing the public
- First aid overview
Note that these are just the basic requirements and more subjects can be taken and added.
Fees, which are nonrefundable, include the application cost $100.00.
Utah Security Guard Job Statistics
|Area name||Employment||Hourly mean wage||Annual mean wage||Hourly median wage||Annual median wage|
Data extracted on December 26, 2013
Check-out State of Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing or contact 801-530-6628 for further insight.